

# Minutes Maryland Cybersecurity Council 10 June 2020 Meeting Virtual Format

The following is an outline of the meeting. The full meeting recording may be found at <a href="https://umuc.zoom.us/rec/share/tOpvDLfJWJ\_Tonq7AbbArcYE9Xveaa8h3dLq6llzUnER2KelEGEeQYcVkr">https://umuc.zoom.us/rec/share/tOpvDLfJWJ\_Tonq7AbbArcYE9Xveaa8h3dLq6llzUnER2KelEGEeQYcVkr</a> X13af?startTime=1591798014000

## Council Members Present or Represented (29/57)

Attorney General Brian Frosh (Chair), Dr. David Anyiwo, Delegate Ned Carey, Dr. Michel Cukier, Dr. Anton Dahbura, Robert Day, Jayfus Doswell, Cyril Draffin, Howard Feldman, Clay House, Terri Jo Hayes, Mark Hubbard (for Walter Landon), Brian Israel, Anupam Joshi, Kevin Kornegay, Linda Lamone, Mathew Lee, Senator Susan Lee, Bel Leong-hong, Larry Letow, Joseph Morales, Laura Nelson, Colonel Reid Novotny (for Adjutant General Timothy Gowen), Jonathan Powell, Markus Rauschecker, Christine Ross, Adjutant General (Ret) Linda Singh, Gregg Smith, and NithinVenkatraman (for Senator Katie Fry Hester).

### Staff Attending

Howard Barr (Assistant Attorney General and Principal Counsel, DoIT), Patrice Drago (Chief of Staff, Office of Delegate Ned Carey), Chip Stewart (State CISO), Hannibal Kemerer (Director, Legislative Affairs, OAG), Michael Lore (Chief of Staff, Office of Senator Susan Lee), Dr. Greg von Lehmen (Council Staff, UMGC).

### Council Meeting

### Opening Remarks by the Chair

The Attorney General welcomed the Council and members of the public who were attending.

To respect the time of the two presenters, he announced a change in the order of the agenda to allow them to go first. The two presenters were the Honorable Tom Wheeler and RADM (USN, Ret) David Simpson. Among his comments in introducing the two, the Attorney General noted that Mr. Wheeler is a former FCC chairman (2013 2017) as well as a published historian and that RADM Simpson is the former Chief of the FCC Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau (2013 2017). Both are Brookings Institute Fellows. The AG thanked Blair Levin, a cochair of the Law, Policy, and Legislation Subcommittee for extending the invitation to the presenters.

The repository. Working with the subcommittee, CHHS will soon contribute another tranche of curated materials to be included in the repository.

Support of the ENSB cybersecurity committee. The subcommittee and Council staff had recruited two USM faculty to advise the committee: Dr. Michel Cukier (University of Maryland) and Marc Fruchtbaum (University of Maryland Global Campus).

Maryland ISAO. The subcommittee continues to explore ways of increasing information sharing in the State.

Education and Workforce Development. Reporting for Senator Hester, Nithin Venkatraman, her Chief of Staff, likewise acknowledged the challenging nature of the last legislative session and identified cybersecurity-related bills that Senator Hester may pursue in the next session:

SB 1036/HB1618 SB 895

SB 724/HB 1580

SB 1049

SWAT team as a public-spirited initiative to assist businesses with cybersecurity intrusions that have spiked with COVID-19. In addition, she indicated the ongoing interest of the subcommittee in the information sharing discussions that were occurring, noted that her subcommittee had done a baseline review of cyber-related among the economic-related development bills in the last session with particular interest in HB 45. Finally, she summarized the initiatives for 2021:

Innovation that would make teleworking more secure.

i-9(a)e in.8 ry.i(ke)info( 1049 0 Td (. 49)05C2o3.42b37.6(Hm)-36

# Other Business

The Attorney General thanked the subcommittees for their work. Asking for and having no indication of further business, the Council adjourned at 12:03 pm.

[Note: These minutes were approved at the October 14, 2020,